Our Profile

The Indian Association of Dermatologists Venereologists and Leprologists (IADVL) came into existence on the 28th of January 1973 at Udaipur with the merger of the Indian association of dermatologists and Venereologists (IADV) and the dermatological society of India (DSI). Till 1973, members from the Karnataka and Tamilnadu were meeting under the southern branch of IADV. With the formation of IADVL members from different states of the country were allowed to form their own separate branches. Members from Karnataka and Tamilnadu decided to stay together and form a combined branch.

On the 15th of June 1973, at Madras, under the chairmanship of Dr.A.Krishna, the combined K-T branch of IADVL was inaugurated. The inaugural meet was held at the PG hall, Government General Hospital Madras. About 15 members attended the first meeting. Dr.D.P.Jayaraman of Bangalore and Dr.A.Krishnabecame the first president and Secretary of IADVL- KT Branch respectively.

Three meetings were held in the inaugural year (1973) at Madras, CMC Vellore and KR hospital Mysore. The clinical meetings included discussion of interesting cases and were very informative.

As the conferences became more and more popular, the scope of the meetings was gradually enlarged apart from case discussion; guest lectures, scientific sessions of free & award papers came into vogue. Quiz sessions for postgraduates, which were introduced in the eighties, became an instant success.

In 1985 to encourage the publication of papers in IJDVL from Karnataka and Tamilnadu, the branch decided to award cash prizes to the first author of the paper papers published. Presently cash award is given to any publication in the indexed journal. In the annual meeting of the branch held in Madras in November 1988, Dr.K.Rajendran of Madras suggested that a combined meet of the southern states could be organized. The historic 1st South Zone Conference of IADVL was held on the 15th&16th of September 1990 at Cochin, Kerala, initially it was held every year and now it has been made as a once in 2 years. KT branch conferences are held every year alternatively in Tamilnadu and Karnataka.

In association with neighboring IADVL state branches of Karnataka, Tamilnadu, Andhra Pradesh and Kerala along with Union Territory of Pondicherry branches South Zone conference are being held once in 2 years (previously every year) in rotation among them. First south zone conference was held in Ernakulam in the year 1990.

Since the members were started increasing in numbers both state office bearers were decided to have separate state branches and on August 2009 got separated. First state conference (CUTICON- KARNATAKA) was held at Raichur in the year 2010 , 2nd at Mandya in 2011 and 3rd at Bidar in the year 2012.

CUTICON - Karnataka Annual Conferences
1 2010 23 & 24 Oct 2010 Raichur Hyderabad Karnataka Dermatology Society
2 2011 8 & 9 Oct 2011 Mandya Mandya Society Of Dermatologists
3 2012 6 & 7 Oct 2012 Bidar Hyderabad Karnataka Dermatology Society
4 2013 24 & 25 Oct 2013 Shimoga Sahyadri Derma Association 
5 2014 1 & 2 Nov 2014 Vijayapura Bijapur-Bagalkot Dermatologist Association
6 2015 28 & 29 Nov 2015 Davanagere Davanagere Association
7 2016 11, 12 & 13 Nov 2016 Hubballi KIMS Hubballi, SDM Dharwad & HDDA
8 2017 17, 18 & 19 Nov 2017 Mangalore Karavali Dermatology Society
9 2018 28, 29 & 30 Sep 2018 Mysuru Mysore Dermatology Society
10 2019 8, 9 & 10 Nov 2019 Gadag Gadag Dermatologists Association